Critical Reading – Justin Baker

Oli Lewington

http://www.4thought.tv/themes/should-organ-donation-be-made-compulsory/oli-lewington?autoplay=true

 

0:05 – 0:12 – “I knew that if I didn’t get a transplant in time, my life was running out very rapidly.”

Lewington uses a causal claim by saying if he did not get a transplant quickly, his life would end.

0:27 – 0:34 – “I suffered from Cystic Fibrosis which destroyed my lungs to a point where the Doctors believed I only had about two years left to live.”

Lewington uses a definitional claim by saying Cystic Fibrosis destroyed his lungs.

Lewington claims his Doctors believed he only had about two years left to live.

0:38 – 0:45 – “When I was put onto the transplant list, it was explained to me that the average waiting time was eighteen months.” 

Lewington uses a definitional claim by saying the average waiting time on a transplant list is about eighteen months.

0:46 – 0:57 – “I passed the two year mark and realized I was living on borrowed time. You’re essentially waiting for someone else to die so you can have a second chance.”

Lewington claims he was living on borrowed time because he was living past the two-year deadline his Doctors gave him.

Lewington uses a causal claim by saying that he was waiting for someone else to die so he could have a second chance at life.

1:11 – 1:18 – “I don’t think it will ever be possible for me to express to my donor family the gratitude I feel for the gift they’ve given me.”

Lewington claims he will never be able to thank his donor family enough for what they did for him.

Lewington uses an evaluation claim by comparing the lungs he was given to a gift.

1:37 – 1:46 – “By switching to a system of presumed consent, we’re taking away that element of a gift, and I wouldn’t want to change that for anything.”

Lewington uses and evaluation claim again by comparing organ donations as a gift.

Lewington uses a definitional claim by saying if we switched to a system of presumed consent; we’re taking away the element of a gift. Lewington feels there is a special feeling when donors want to give their organs to people who need them to stay alive.

 

Oli Lewington’s video is full of claims. While he does not think organ donation should be compulsory, I disagree. I believe it should be an opt-out system. While that special feeling when donors want to give their organs away may be gone, many more lives can be saved if everyone donates their organs. Lewington makes very basic claims in his two-minute video. While I do not agree with his view on whether organ donations should be compulsory, I agree with his claim that every organ donation is a gift. It is very admirable when people are dying and they are willing to give their organs away to help somebody else live.

 

 

This entry was posted in A06: Critical Reading, Baker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

