Reflection – Kevin Buttari

Clever Title

During my time as a student, I’ve had to take many writing classes and write many reflective statements.  Upon examination of my previous reflective statements, one could procure enough bull excrements about the things I’ve “learned” to start a very successful fertilization company.  Looking for actual sincerity about the class would be the equivalent of searching for a needle in a large heap of fecal matter.  On this day, I am proud to say that I can finally write a reflective statement honestly with out saying “yeah, I didn’t learn anything.”

For almost every essay that has come before this class, I would write one draft, and submit it, usually without much, or any revisions.  I learned the hard way how horrible of a tactic that was.  I don’t remember writing an essay this year without being told how horrendous my grammar was.  This has been the first class in which the professor actually cares if I sound like an idiot or not, and doesn’t just check to see that I was on topic.  The addition of revisions and second drafts to my writing has exponentially increased my writing ability.

For some reason, it’s taken until my second college writing class to learn that what I mean, and what I write, need to actually be the same thing.  As an example, using “you” is just wrong.  While I meant for you to mean the reader in a hypothetic situation, I was actually just saying that this is what the reader would do/does.  I would also refer to a single person with no defined gender as either he or they, which is also very wrong.  These two things by themselves have already made me a significantly better writer, because everything that I write, now actually makes sense.

Anyone can just take opinions and turn them into something that appears to be facts, but a good writer just gets straight down to the point and gives the reader the facts.  Not many people care that much about the opinions of a writer.  Anyone can give an opinion to make a point.  There really isn’t anything special about that.  However, a good writer can make a claim, and instead of saying something similar to “this is what I believe, you should believe it too,” say “here is a proposal and enough logical sources and reasons to back it up.”

Overall, this has been, by far the most helpful writing class I’ve had ever.  I only wish students could be exposed to this way of writing at an earlier age, as it would help young writers evolve into full-fledged writers at a much earlier age.  Schools could at least just provide sufficient feedback instead of “Your grammar is wrong. Fix it.”  That helps almost nothing.  Sure it points out that there is a problem, but theres absolutely no guidance as to how to fix it.  Well, I’m going a bit off topic now so I’ll end my last paper for this class with two quotes that can sum up everything else I’ve learned from this class in seventeen words.

“A man who does not think for himself, does not think at all.”

“Everything popular is wrong”

~Oscar Wilde

This entry was posted in A15: Reflective Statement, Kevin Buttari. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflection – Kevin Buttari

  1. kmbuttari says:

    I also need a regrade on this.

  2. davidbdale says:

    It’s hilarious that these are all coming in now, Kevin. I hope for your sake they’re all big improvements. It would be a shame to have your grades revised down. Just kidding (sort of). 🙂

Leave a Reply

