Reflective – Samantha Kovnat

How I Survived Comp II, and Learned to Love the Cake

Samantha Kovnat is a visual learner with tactile learner tendencies, and occasional Auditorial learner needs. If you were to add those qualities up and calculate the easiest way for her to learn, using an internet blog would not be the first choice of methods. Despite choosing a course that so clearly was going to be a struggle, I managed to stick it out, and truly grow as a writer and individual. I broadened my mind through the exposure to many upsetting, yet true counterintuitive in-class articles and subjects matters, such as the invention of money, the failed polio campaign, the many opinions on organ donation, Edward Linsmier’s story about street photographers being comparable to vultures, and many more. I spent hours writing, and editing, so as to improve my work, and improve my grade. The act of doing all of that reading, writing, and editing has helped to truly shape me into a more educated, open minded learner, who has attained a more solid strength as a writer and editor all from the Comp II course.

Throughout Comp II, we have spent a large portion of time reading the work of others, responding, and learning from counterintuitive subjects that they were educating us on. I have written and responded to at least 16 papers, responses, arguments, and essays. This repeated action of continuously writing and editing has helped to keep my mind sharp in relation to the editing process. It has also helped me to be able to analyze my own work, fearlessly remove or add details (my favorite little things), fix punctuation, and consolidate information. As a person that gets easily caught up within the metaphors I create within my writing, I often find it hard to pull my head out of the computer and allow myself to butcher what I wrote while still keeping its initial integrity. That was always my my biggest struggle, the fact that every word I typed felt necessary, every word became permanent to me. As the course of this semester has gone on, I have felt myself withdrawing my emotional ties to each word I type out, and finally be able to go back and edit without hemming and hauling at myself over each and every word. I learned that sometimes sacrificing words that seem to be magnificent can actually make your entire document stronger and more concise, which is a GOOD thing. An example of this could be found within my final research paper. I had one phrase I felt was perfect, but try as I might could not find a place for my little sentence to make a home, so when the last period was typed, it sat on the opposite side of that tiny black dot, and met every words nightmare; the delete key.

Core Valure III is a bit of a tricky one to fully understand, but I interpreted it as the understanding of how every time someone writes, and every time someone is reading, there is an exchange of information. The words or text hold power. When we wrote our research papers we each formulated our own opinions on a counterintuitive subject manner, by writing those papers we took the power of the  pen (or keyboard) in our hands and made the thoughts inside of our head immortalized through text. When someone reads our essay, each word, paragraph, and phrase can effect them. Words hold true power, and regardless of the silly rhymes parents tell their kids about words bouncing off of them, the fact that words even have the power to upset shows how we must be conscientious of how we use them.  When I read articles on aol.com, or the Philadelphia Inquirer, I absorb the authors thoughts and opinions and then have to interpret them in my own way, and decide how his/her words, thoughts, opinions will effect my life.

Within writing lies the genuine exchange of information, plain and simple. If you write something, you can count on that to be full of information, whether its a note to your husband to take out the trash, or a 4 page research paper. The level of information given varies, but the exchange of information is still the same. When writing my research paper, there was the information I shared with readers that was self formulated, and then there was information that I had to research and cite properly. The use of other peoples information within writing of your own, as long as it’s properly cited, can truly be the powerhouse behind any argument, helping to truly convince your audience of the point you are trying to make. In most cases having opinions that support your own make you look even better! In my own case, I had the words of Anne Frank herself aiding in support of my thesis. The silent voices that become sewn into your own help to make your paper, or essay a more concrete and respectable piece of writing.

Anne Frank knew the power of the pen, and so do I. As an artist I have immense respect for artistic expression of all kinds, especially when it comes to expressing opinions, thoughts, or personal beliefs onto the page. Whenever you put words out there for people to see, you have to understand that some people might criticize you, some people might be offended by you, and some people may support you. The chance you take putting yourself out there is always worth the risk. Expression of every kind requires a certain level of ethical responsibility since each and every one of us has the power to spread lies, ruin reputations, and alter facts just with a few words. Knowing the power of words, and understanding how truly delicate each one is, is one of the most important steps in not only writing essays, but writing anything in general. Expression, communication, and language is a gift that not everyone fully understands, but I am proud to say that I hold it with the utmost respect that it deserves and I always will. This is who I am as a person, Artist, and student.

This entry was posted in A15: Reflective Statement, Portfolio, Sammy Kovnat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflective – Samantha Kovnat

  1. davidbdale says:

    Silent voices become physical so they can be sewn into concrete? Good as you are, Sammy, you still love words that should suffer the delete key. And you always will. And we all do. Your love for the words makes you special. Embrace it and them. But know when to kill them too for their own good. I’m proud to have played a small part in your growth as a writer and thinker. I’m also delighted you hung in there when clearly this course was a counterintuitive choice for you. I hope you’ll continue to trust me as a resource.

Leave a Reply

