Reflective Statement- Brianne Waters

The Purpose of This Title is to Get You to Read My First Sentence

As this semester comes to a close, I find myself once again reflecting on all of the lessons I have learned in Composition class. In these past two semesters, I have found myself as a writer and challenged myself to new levels of writing. Writing is a process, a lengthy one at that, that can be very beneficial with the right amount of persuasion in it. This past semester I have learned how to successfully make an argument in a clear and concise manner.

As stated previously, writing is a process. This fact speaks directly to Core Value I: “Understanding that writing is a multi-stage, recursive, and social process.” In this class, this core value is perhaps the most important one. With the help of in-depth feedback from my professor, I was able to revise my essays multiple times in order to make them the best they could be. With the help of my professor’s feedback, I was able to pick up on bad tendencies in my writing and fix them in that particular essay and also in future writings. Even when I did not receive professor feedback, I was able to revise my writing in order to improve each new draft.

Core Value III states “Understand how texts represents meaning and how the process of writing and reading create and interpret meaning.” I achieved this core value in all of my writing this past semester. When you’re writing, you not only want to inform your reader about the information you are presenting but you also want to elicit ideas and opinions out of your audience about the topic. For example, in my “Invention of Money” essay, I did not just simply inform my audience about our nation’s currency or the story of the people of Yep. I persuaded my readers to critically think about our monetary system and question the validity of it all. All of my essays helped create new ideas about each topic whether it was something as concrete as the money we use or was something as mysterious as Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

In Comp II, I learned just how important it was to have evidence to back up your arguments. When we first began investigating what an argument is and what kinds there were, I found myself questioning a lot of the arguments that were being made in the examples. This constant questioning made me realize that the most effective arguments have lots of information behind them. Weeding through good and bad evidence, I was able to find a variation of resources for my Research Position Paper. With so much information at hand, I was able to write a paper that could be backed up by strong evidence. This clearly shows the successful completion of Core Value V: “Understanding the role and use of information in writing.”

In this class, everything you write is open for the world to see. Everyone in class can simply log on to the blog to see your work and so can anyone else who can access the worldwide web and stumbles upon this blog. With this being said, I know that everything I wrote needed to be held to the standard that I would want everything I read on the internet to be. Making sure I used legitimate sources, I was able to create essays that could  were very reliable and real. I know that my audience can trust that my writing is true and legitimate due to the amount of sources, evidence, and knowledge I had on my subject. This shows a completion of Core Value VII: “Understanding the power and ethical responsibility that comes with the creation of written discourse.”

Comp II has taught me so many lessons in becoming a better writer through much hard work. With vigorous feedback from my professor, I learned to pack such short sentences with plenty of information and argument. I improved simple grammar mistakes that I consistently made. I learned how to find scholarly sources and successfully informally cite them throughout my paper. But perhaps most importantly, I learned to trust the cake.

This entry was posted in A15: Reflective Statement, Brianne Waters. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflective Statement- Brianne Waters

  1. davidbdale says:

    That worked. I’m reading your first sentence! 🙂
    Is your portfolio ready for final grading, Brianne? Thank you for trusting the cake.

  2. davidbdale says:

    Like most arguments, this one is at its best when it brings in specific evidence such as examples of the people of Yap and the sufferers of PTSD. Remember that as you write anything, ever, Brianne. Readers love the cows and chips.

Leave a Reply

